Summer read: Breath of death

revcon-education1

This book, by Saad Shafqat, describes a biological warfare scenario in which a neurologist, tasked diagnosing a series of mysterious brain illnesses, uncovers a bioterrorism plot by a radicalized biochemist.  It is a scenario/roman à clef written by a neurologist.  I am repeating myself (several of my Summer Read reviews discuss similar novels) by saying that the author writes well enough.  This is a kind of tautology for scenario/roman à clefs written by Pakistanis and sold in the United States, simply because they wouldn’t be printed and sold in the United States if they read poorly, because economic motivation.  Luckily I think I’ve almost run out of scenario/roman à clefs to review, so I don’t have to keep repeating myself on this issue.

Leave a Reply

